Lovers of Wisdom

I am writing this during a three day convention at Caleruega in Batulao, Nasugbu, Batangas. I am in a gathering of philosophers: members of the Philosophical Association of the Philippines (PAP). There are about 50 who came for this event (professors and students)—only a few compared to the conventions of the past years.
I myself am not at home in considering myself a philosopher, or the Greek “philosophos” (etymologically meaning “lover of wisdom”) albeit this term is already the “humbled” form of the more flamboyant “sophos”, which means “wise person”. The feeling of smallness comes to me in meetings like this when I mingle with the likes of Prof. Rolando Gripaldo and Fr. Dionisio Miranda, SVD (whose books I use in the philosophy courses that I teach), and the philosopher-playwright Jovy Miroy. It suffices then that I am happy to have this opportunity to be with lovers of wisdom.

It is likewise this very day that I got elected to the PAP Board of Directors. To this moment I have not fully comprehended what this would mean, but one thing is certain: that all the more should I be more and more in love with wisdom. It is through a habit of looking into the meaning of things great and small, of searching for the truth that this would come to pass. Therefore, as such, we are all called to be lovers of wisdom.

(April 12, 2007; Caleruega, Batulao, Nasugbu, Batangas)

5 Responses to Lovers of Wisdom

  1. jun asis says:

    Hi Fr. Joel! Kumusta na ka? I hope you remember me. We were schoolmates, club-mates (KoA DBTI Tarlac) with John Kliatchko (who is in DBTC now). Former officemate ako ni Dinah.

    Found you through Fr. Cuyo’s site. It’s good to know more priests are blogging. Lalo ka na. I know you’ve gots lots to share despite the business of your sked.

    Expect me to drop by often.

    God bless.

  2. Sophia says:

    It was not really a gathering of lovers of wisdom. It was more of a gathering of people who wanted their ways be changed, molded or dealt upon by philosophy. Philosophy is more than the love of wisdom. Philosophy is the love for life. It is life in itself. The wisdom that we get in everything that happens in life should be a given. It is a human situation.

  3. sophia says:

    I think I like how you write. There is a style which is utterly moving. You should write more. I will look forward to them. Good day!

  4. joelsdb says:

    hello jun asis! glad to meet you here. yes, missed those days aat DB tarlac. do drop by. God bless!

  5. joelsdb says:

    Thanks to the two Sophias for your comments. Regarding “lover of wisdom” I was playing more on the etymological meaning of “philosophy”. I’m a buff for the Greek language, especially classical and koine Greek. It is still my dream to study in depth sacred scripture in the original languages (hebrew and greek).

Leave a Reply

